5 Fandom Friday: Christmas Movies

My Christmas Movie favorites have been pretty solidified over the years, with a new one sneaking in rarely. These are my top 5, and they are laden with nostalgia that pairs well with a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon and holiday treats.

1. Desk Set

Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy star in my Reference Library Christmas Heaven. This is my favorite for so many reasons, but mostly for how much I want to be Katharine in this movie. #goals

2. Bachelor Mother

Ginger Rogers is a department store holiday worker who comes across a random baby on a doorstep and can convince no one that she is not actually the mother. Since she is unmarried in the 1930s, their reactions of being helpful and doing everything they can to support her with the baby add even more heart to this Christmas Romantic Comedy pick.

3. The Muppet Christmas Carol

This is my favorite Muppet movie, bar none. Gonzo and Rizzo the Rat are the perfect narrators and Michael Caine is THE ultimate scrooge. It’s adorable and scary and is even a freaking musical. Love. It.

P.S. The When Love is Gone song has been removed from newer American versions of this movie, and that is totally unacceptable.

4. Die Hard

It’s funny when every year articles come out defending Die Hard’s status as a Christmas film. I have never seen anyone argue that it is not one, so ya’ll are just arguing with something non-existent. Unless a lot of people have a stuffy grandma that’s like “No, we can’t be having that kind of 80s badass naughtiness as a holiday classic!” If so, please tape that conversation and share cause that would be super adorable. However, I feel that most grandmas are like mine, totally up for wine and Die Hard. Old ladies are awesome.

5. The Night Before

A newer addition to my must list of the season, and almost too hilarious. Like, I tried to re-watch this on a plane and had to stop cause I could not control my laugh volume. The tale is relatively simple, but the characters and their bond are super freaking sweet. My absolute favorite bits are with Seth Rogan and Jillian Bell as husband and pregnant wife. They play them very real and loving, and I would love to see more with those two.

sign

Save

3 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday: Christmas Movies

  1. I absolutely love these posts – I always get a couple movies to add to my neverending To Watch list. I believe the only one of these I’ve seen all the way through would have to be The Muppet Christmas Carol. Of course, this is coming from someone who’s yet to watch Hocus Pocus.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

