Fandom 5: Films Critics Hate, but I Absolutely Love

A good deal of the time, critics and I mesh fairly well in our film opinions. Well, my go-to critics at least. However, there are still a number of movies that I adore completely that seem to baffle the critic consensus. (Or at least leave them cold.) The following movies occupy a coveted place in my video library no matter what the naysayers say:

1. Radioland Murders: 24% on Rotten Tomatoes

tumblr_o2pgagegh31um0usbo3_1280tumblr_o2pgagegh31um0usbo4_1280

Long, long ago, a couple of decades past, George Lucas made the best Murder Mystery Comedy ever. It’s even set in a startup radio station in 1939 complete with live radio play and musical performances. Everything is brilliantly hilarious, from Christopher Lloyd as Zolton the special effects engineer searching for the perfect melon to simulate a head being smashed to Brian Benben hiding from the suspicious police as he tries to finish the final rewrites so that the show can go on! The entire story and cast is a beautiful warm hug of a clever and crazy bygone world. And I love it.

2. The Boss: 22% on Rotten Tomatoes

Based on the reviews, I had super low expectations for this movie. Color me surprised when I laughed my damn ass off! I know it’s not “high-brow”, complicated, or possessed of any subtle humor at all, but it’s such a perfect level of feminine power and naughtiness. The only thing that could elevate my enjoyment of this film is to include it in a double feature with Troop Beverly Hills, and nom on cocktails and girl scout cookies. Heaven. Oh, and Peter Dinklage as the evil Renault is adorable as shit. There’s a flashback to the 90s where he and Michelle (Melissa McCarthy) were co-workers and lovers before she “betrayed him”, and the epic styling and cocaine snorting (full on nineties Die Hard nostalgia style) going on deserves it’s own film. Prequel please?

3. The Watch: 17% on Rotten Tomatoes

So this is a sci-fi comedy set in a suburban town with a crown jewel of a Costco where a band of concerned citizens take on a hostile alien invasion. Everyone is adorable, Vince Vaughn is an amazing father, the cops are useless, and Richard Ayoade is my precious sunshine. I love to watch this while getting my list etc ready to do a Costco run, and I legitimately don’t understand why everyone does not enjoy this movie and do the same.

4. Doom: 19% on Rotten Tomatoes

Karl Urban is so badass, The Rock goes evil, Rosamund Pike introduced herself to me, and Soap from Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels is a fabulous gatekeeper. I never have played the Doom PC game, but the shooter perspective during part of the film reminded me of Wolfenstien, which I absolutely loved as a kid:) The critics hated on this hard, but I think it’s a solid futuristic action horror flick with a focus on the science of the potential of human genetics.

5. The Decoy Bride: 23% on Rotten Tomatoes

This is a totally cute and worthy Romantic Comedy with David Tennant, Kelly MacDonald, and Alice Eve. They play out a very mature love triangle where no one is the bad guy. All of the characters are genuine and working towards accepting themselves and what truly makes them happy. And David Tennant goes full on native wandering the beautiful Scottish island; it’s amazing.

sign

5 thoughts on “Fandom 5: Films Critics Hate, but I Absolutely Love

Leave a Reply

