5 Fandom Friday: Fandoms I Failed At

Happy 5 Fandom Friday! There are so many fandoms out there, and we are accumulating more and more as time goes on. This is a good thing, as many of us have varied tastes, yet sometimes there is just too much to love. My fan heart is large, but it is just not possible to fall head over heels for everything out there. Here are the fandoms that are much beloved by many people, but for various reasons pass through me like an awkward first date:

1. Game of Thrones

Years before the TV series I had given the book series a try. It did not go well; I got grossed out and did not make it to the end of the first book. The HBO take came out, and I figured I’d give it another shot. I mean, Peter Dinklage is magically delicious, perhaps he could imbue the show with all the fantasy missing from the books. But twas not to be. I stubbornly pushed through the first season, but it is just not my thing. I do youtube clips of Tyrion though:)

2. Nintendo

This is more a case of growing up with a Sega Genesis instead of a Nintendo, so it feels more luck of the draw which side you end up on. I don’t regret it, Sonic the Hedgehog and Krusty’s Super Fun House made me a very happy camper. The main reason I have a smidge of Nintendo envy is the adorable Kirby. What is he? He’s so cute, I can’t stand it!

3. Farscape

It’s the puppets. The creepy as heck puppets that keep me from being able to watch beyond the first episode. I have tried, man, especially with how many good things I have heard about this show. But those are some freaky Dark Crystal like puppets, not the Muppets or really any other kind of felt creature that does not scare the crap out of me.

4. Steampunk

This one is pretty nitpicky of me, because it’s purely about the level of Steampunk that I can enjoy. This is absolutely just a personal preference thing. So the Steampunk style that is gobbed on with some sort of trowel to the point where decorative cogs and springs cover up a character or piece, is not my thing. Too much for show, not enough of the Victorian era look with a modern function. I love to see something like The Time Machine, and the mash up of styles that feels real. Another I love is River Song’s Sonic Screwdriver. Or pretty much anything in the Wild Wild West series or Brisco County Jr. Sci-Fi and burgundy velvet, with a touch of mahogany. Yes.

5. Warehouse 13

This was one that surprised me, because I thought I would love it. Big fantasy warehouse like the one in Indiana Jones, filled with objects of magic and mayhem that need to be looked after? Sounds right up my alley. For whatever reason, I could not get into it.

sign

 

6 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday: Fandoms I Failed At

  1. Same here on the Farscape. Didn’t like it, couldn’t get into it. When it first aired on TV, my mum knew my sister and I loved Sci-fi so she taped it. We watched one episode and left it. My mum knew what we liked after that – she taped all three Star Wars movies for us instead.

    Someone I used to know kept on and on about Warehouse 13 – honestly I never bothered with it. I saw a trailer and thought – nah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I got annoyed with Warehouse 13 and stopped watching, but when I was looking up gifs I saw an actress I liked came on later to play a female WG Wells, so I may need to look into that. The gif impression is that she is good but a bit evil:)

      Like

  2. I too started out skeptical of the puppets in Farscape, but I’m glad I gave the show a chance! It helps that Jim Henson was behind much of the puppetry, or it could have gone so wrong and been so cheesy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I guess I just like more fantasy in my fantasy genre. Like, I can look out into the world and see the ugly that’s in got, and that’s hard enough to deal with, when I’m watching a fantasy show give me some Wesley farmboy, or at least some Xena Warrior Princess. More hope, this genre is supposed to be about possibilities.

      Like

Leave a Reply

