5 Fandom Friday: Favorite Treats

I absolutely love cupcakes, and have been finding new interesting recipes the past few years. Honestly, what started this was finally watching 2 Broke Girls and really wanting to make those awesome cupcakes. Maple Bourbon Bacon Cupcakes? Yes, I want it now! So I found my place in life as far as desserts were concerned. At least, until I moved back to Texas from Washington, and everything fell out of whack. A mixture of dealing with a new oven, elevation, and humidity level (I’m guessing) has been making my cupcakes come out all funky. So, I need to relearn how to tweak them to make them happy down here. In the meantime, I have incorporated different treats into my dessert rotation, and here are my top 5:

1. Irish Creme Cupcake

baileys-cupcakes5

The memory of these cupcakes is forever the best dessert ever! I really need to give these another go in Texas. It makes be bananas to remember how easy these were to make in Washington. Mmmmmm, Baileys Irish Creme Cupcakes.

2. Apple Dumplings

2295946365_d753a3a686_o

So these are awesome, and you can not mess them up, it’s just not possible. Two cans of Pillsbury croissants, cut up some apples, wrap the apple in the croissant, melt butter with cinnamon etc, pour butter over wrapped apples in pan, and then comes my favorite part. Pour a can of Mountain Dew over it. Yes, super weird, but it’s sooo good.

3. Spiced Apple Margaritas

apple-margaritas-1.jpg

I am a total Margarita person, and this is my favorite recipe to make at home. They work with any hard alcohol, then you just need apple juice, honey, cinnamon, and a cocktail shaker.

4. Bourbon and Brown Sugar Bacon Wrapped Dates

dates-1.jpg

So I went to a tapas restaurant in D.C. visiting with my best friend and had some bacon wrapped dates. They were so delicious that I needed to put more in mah mouth! Given that I live far away from any fancy tapas availability, I found a recipe that enables my greediness.

5. Gingerbread Cupcake

Birds_Like_Cake_Gingerbread_Latte_Cupcakes2

These are really good year round, or when I’m just feeling in need of some Christmas spirit. Now the trick with these is that you gotta use black coffee fresh from Starbucks or some other establishment. At least if you are a horrible coffee maker like myself. In my defense, Diet Dr. Pepper is my caffeine of choice.

 

Honorary Mention:

Chai Gingerbread Shake

CHAI-GINGERBREAD-SHAKE_390x297

sign

5 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday: Favorite Treats

  1. Love me some dates! I make my Sticky Toffee Pudding with them (and my raw cocoa brownies)- they’re so versatile, and they hold up to every kind of abuse. Plus, you can’t go wrong with bacon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

