5 Fandom Friday: 5 Fictional Characters You Most Identify With

Another wonderful day in the land of 5 Fandom Friday with a topic via @SoMelificent! The most difficult thing about this kind of topic is being sure that I have remembered all of the many possible characters out there. So many!

1. Louise Belcher – Bob’s Burgers

Louise_6feb41_5312543

Ever since my first viewing of Bob’s Burgers, I have felt a kinship with Louise. Well, really everyone on that show because they are all awesome, but mostly Louise. We are both the tiniest in our families yet it would be wise to fear our wrath. She is stubborn, has no patience for other peoples craziness, and is an incredibly adept mastermind. She is also a girl who wishes to be the warrior in any playing pretend scenario, not the princess.

2. Flora Poste – Cold Comfort Farm

floraCold Comfort Farm is one of the most British light comedy social satire movies based on a book ever! I grew up with it, and now I put it on when making scones on a Sunday mid-morning. Flora Poste is the heroine of this tale, and she has life so totally figured out that she is more who I aspire to become. Her life’s ambition is to soak up experiences until pouring it all into a novel when she turns 50. The motivation behind this being her appreciation for Jane Austin. Until then she seeks out an interesting branch of her family and proceeds to tidy things up. Everything has no choice but to right itself when Flora takes things in hand.

3. Beatrice – Much Ado About Nothing

Much-Ado-about-nothingJoss Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing is my absolute favorite version, with the David Tennant and Catherine Tate one a close second. Very close. In fact, if you have not discovered the site which has gorgeously filmed British plays for everyone to enjoy, it is here. You’re welcome, now back to the subject at hand. Beatrice is a seemingly self possessed woman with a cynical view of love. She prefers to look after her family and make people laugh rather than hitch her wagon to just any man. Beatrice is a lady of taste and standards, and those can be effective as protection as well as a sign of a wise nature. She is protective, witty, loves when the right man comes along, and can do an impressive pratfall!

4. April Ludgate – Parks and Recreation

romania_0April was basically me until I was about 25 when I gave into the idea that acting positive makes people treat you better. Yeah, it’s a bit of a cop-out but I see it as a hack which makes life a little less difficult. My April spirit is still very much alive, however, and those close to me know that that is my true nature.

5. Unikitty – The Lego Movie

anigif_enhanced-26108-1403193151-9Uniktty was my favorite thing about The Lego Movie! She is someone that I absolutely get, and I am obsessed with her. Most of the time she looks all pink and sweet and happy and sparkly, but there is a bit of effort for her in keeping that facade up. When you make her angry, her true nature comes flying out at you, and there is no mercy.

sign

8 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday: 5 Fictional Characters You Most Identify With

  1. I absolutely love that you have Flora Poste (Robert Poste’s child) on your list. I love that movie and book. And Much Ado About Nothing is my favorite Shakespeare play. Perfection

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Beatrice – she’s a fantastic character and Much Ado About Nothing has always been one of my favourite Shakespeare plays.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just started watching Bob’s Burgers, but I very much identify with Louise too. She’s a mischief-lover, which is the best kind of female character if you ask me!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

