5 Fandom Friday Part 2: 10 Songs That Changed my Life

I initially put out a spin on this topic because I was worried my favorite songs list would be the same as everyone elses. Now that I have been reading all of these awesome articles this Friday, I am totally jealous! Sticking to the pure topic this week feels more personal, and I would like to share my redux Life Changing Songs list with you guys.

1. Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen

Queen and Prince basically ruled my childhood, and I love them to this day. The soundtracks to Highlander and Flash Gordon are my total jam!

2. Walking in Memphis – Marc Cohn

My mother had this on tape and I would take it from her top drawer and play it when I was in the mood for this song. I still just need to hear it sometimes.

3. Bitch of a Living – Spring Awakening

I watched this musical live with my father a few birthdays ago, and it was so amazing! The songbook is perfection and the actors in our local production did the absolute crap out of it. I love that the original Broadway performers have received much deserved success as they have moved on to other projects.

4. Tear You Apart – She Wants Revenge

This has resonated with me since the first time I heard it. It feels old school with the music and crazy cool lyrics.

5. Since I Don’t Have You – Buckaroo Banzai

One of the best movies ever and I love that out of nowhere Buckaroo just starts singing this sweet song. “Wherever you go, there you are.”

6. Mad World – Tears for Fears

Adam Lambert does my favorite rendition of this song, and there a fair number out there now. My grandparents were watching American Idol, which I never really got into, when I heard him sing this. I had to watch the rest of the season just for him after that.

7. Glycerine – Bush

When considering across the board full on love every song on an album from a band, you can not do better than Bush. Oh, the nostalgic feels!

8. My Freeze Ray – Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog

Joss Whedon is a master song writer as well as a wordsmith. The talent of that man just freaks me out sometimes.

9. The Creep – The Lonely Island Boys

John Waters joins The Lonely Island crew for creepy yet adorable shenanigans!

10. That’s Just What You Are – Aimee Mann

My father wanted me to have exposure to strong female songwriters during my adolescence. He gave me my first CD, Jagged Little Pill by Alanis Morissette, and Aimee Mann, Natalie Merchant, Bonnie Raitt, No Doubt, and Sarah Mclachlan ones soon after. Love you Dad!

5 thoughts on “5 Fandom Friday Part 2: 10 Songs That Changed my Life

Leave a Reply

