5 Fandom Friday: Gateway Fandoms That Made Me Who I Am Today

Here are my Top 5 Gateway Fandoms that made me the girl I am today:) I grew up this way so this is just basically my starter package. Each fandom encompasses so much, so for the sake of organization I have kept it to 5 examples of that fandom at most.

Comics:

 Silver Sable, Catwoman, Birds of Prey, Supergirl ( Peter David run ), X-Men Apocalypse
Going to the comic book store was a weekly tradition in my family every Friday. Then we would get a pizza and visit the video store. I admit it was a bad ass way to celebrate the end of a school week for me.

Cult Classic Movies:

Evil Dead Movies, Streets of Fire, Buckaroo Banzai, Six String Samurai, Big Trouble in Little China
Being from Austin, Texas makes me a bit of a movie nerd. It also makes it difficult to live anywhere else because of the awesome theaters and rental places galore. I have been living in Washington state for a couple of years, and miss Alamo Drafthouse, The Paramount, and Vulcan Video bad! There are some semi-substitutes here, but nothing beats the real thing.

Star Wars:

The Original Trilogy Only
I have no idea how many times that I have viewed A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi, I just know it is just shy of insanely a lot and Empire is my favorite. However, I do know my count for the newer trilogy. Once for The Phantom Menace, zero for Attack of the Clones, and once for Revenge of the Sith. I remember seeing The Phantom Menace in theaters with my father, and walking to the car silently afterward. We still have not talked about it, and we do not need to, because it was that horrible. The documentary The People vs. George Lucas gets this feeling of love/hate in the fandom perfectly.

British TV:

Red Dwarf, Fawlty Towers, Jeeves and Wooster, Are You Being Served?, The Thin Blue Line
PBS was a wondrous gateway drug to British fandoms for me. My family did not have cable, but I will take growing up on PBS programming over Nickelodeon any day.

Mystery Science Theater 3000:

I loved renting these and watching them with my dad, and to this day I can not stop myself from doing a running commentary when a truly horrible movie is on. Now I am feeling nostalgic, so I will probably do some binge watching on Netflix!

Leave a Reply

